Finalists Announced for Midlands Comedy Awards 2017

Rob Kemp dominates Shortlists with SIX nominations

(Peril Design / Copyright Splash Photography)

Black country comedian Rob Kemp dominates the shortlists for this year’s Midlands Comedy Awards, getting recognition in six of the ten categories. Kemp, who has been collecting accolades all year for his hour-long Elvis Dead show, is up for Best Act, Best MC, Breakthrough Act, Alternative Act and Best Live Show and also picks up a nomination for the Anarchy open mic show he runs in Willenhall.

However, there are plenty of Big Beasts competing with Kemp for all the major prizes. For BEST ACT, he’ll be facing off against household names like Joe Lycett, Tom Binns, Luisa Omielan, as well as former English Comedian of the Year Josh Pugh and rising star Scott Bennett.

Best MC - Barry Dodds

Barry Dodds

There’s tough competition for the BEST MC prize too, where previous winners Barry Dodds and Andy Robinson will be taking on Coronation Street actor Gareth Berliner, plus a handful of talented locals.

In the BEST CLUB category, the Glee Club and Funhouse Comedy, who’ve both taken the prize in the past will be battling Just The Tonic, Laff Attack and NCF Comedy for the big award.

While in the BEST SMALL CLUB shortlist the field is much wider with 8 contenders, evenly split across the eastern and western halves of the region, with last year’s winner, FAF Comedy, and the runner-up, Blue Giraffe, once again going head-to-head.


logo 2017 smallThis year, the finalists for Midlands Comedy Awards were chosen by a secret ballot of both comedy promoters and comedy performers. In the past, only promoters were asked to nominate for the shortlists but, based on feedback from the Midlands comedy community, the decision was taken to widen the range of opinions being taken to decide which names will be put to the public vote.

Voting to decide the awards winners will begin in the middle of November 2017. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Leicester on Monday the 4th December 2017, hosted once again by Barry Dodds and featuring performances by a dozen or so nominees.

The Midlands Comedy Awards are run by an Organising Committee of four, who are automatically ineligible for the awards. Finalists are chosen by a secret ballot of comedy promoters and comedy performers. Award winners are chosen by an online public vote. This is the fourth year that the awards have been run. In 2016 almost 5000 votes were cast to decide the winners.

(Photo credit: Peril Design / Copyright Splash Photography).