Winners 2014

The result are in for 2014. We counted up your votes – more than a thousand of them – and the winners have been chosen. Congratulations to all the finalists, any of whom would have been worthy winners.

Best Act: Andy Robinson

Runner-up: Masai Graham
Third place: Scott Bennett

Breakthrough Act: Hannah Silvester

Runner-up: Daniel Nicholas
Third place: Andrew McBurney

Best New Act: Tom Christian and Josh Pugh*

Runner-up: Lucy Thompson

Best Compere: Andy Robinson

Runner-up: Dave Dinsdale
Third place: Scott Bennett

Best Comedy Club: The Glee Club

Runner-up: CAN Comedy
Third place: Mortified

Best Open Mic Show: Fowl Humour

Runner-up: The Holly Bush
Third place: Dando’s

Outstanding Contribution: Roger Swift

Roger was by far and away the most popular choice for the 2014 Outstanding Contribution Award as nominated by Midlands comedy clubs and promoters. As well as being an accomplished comedian in his own right, Roger has made a huge contribution towards welcoming and developing new talent within the Midlands region.
He runs an open mic night that has helped both old hands and rookie comics develop their material. He has provided reviews, quotes and recommendations that have helped other comedians, and in particular newer comedians, to get bookings around the UK circuit. He also runs professional nights, which offer progression opportunities to up-and-coming acts in the Midlands circuit and beyond.
Also, he’s a bloody lovely bloke and thoroughly deserves this year’s Outstanding Contribution Award. Congratulations Roger.

* jointly awarded as they both received an equal number of votes.